RSS

Those Moments

15 Feb

As a mother, I have my fair share of moments where I just feel like such a failure. Maybe you can relate. It’s when you show up ten minutes late when you promised you’d be there early – this time. It’s when you rushed out the door and forgot to pack their lunch – again. It’s giving permission to grab something from the laundry basket because you just didn’t get to the wash – tonight.

I have the best intentions, but I have the most disheveled mental filing cabinet. I can’t remember things anymore unless I write it down or put it in my phone so it can send me a reminder.

Morning commute: Get gas
Lunch break: Mail that letter, pick up milk and bread
Evening commute: Don’t forget to call your mother!
Bedtime: Shower (I know!)

In all the chaos of trying to juggle the precious hours I am given each day, I question whether I am making the most of every one. I ask myself what I am missing, and at what cost. Then those moments appear… the ones you replay in your head and treasure in your heart. It’s when your oldest child cuddles her sister and reads her a book – instead of fighting. It’s when everyone piles on mommy’s bed on a Saturday morning – after having slept in. It’s when you run outside without a coat, stand under the street light, and catch the falling snow with your tongue – because you should.

Those are the moments that matter. Those are the moments that shape us. They are sacred reminders of beauty, love, and sweetness. They sustain us.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on February 15, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

2 responses to “Those Moments

  1. judybeauchemin

    February 15, 2012 at 12:56 pm

    You are perfect just the way you are, even if you forget things, or do something wrong, or didn’t do something you should have. That’s what makes you human and as we grow more mature some things change. The more we try to do, the more likely we are to have silp-ups. Don’t put yourself down when that happens, just remember the good things, just like you did today. Life is like that….the good and the mess-ups. Those other things won’t make any difference 5 yerars from now and you will probably forget all about them (unless you read back through your blog.) You are loved and loving. What a blessing!

     
  2. Dorothy Dickinson

    April 6, 2012 at 12:28 am

    I am reading the old stuff…I agree with Judy!

     

Leave a Reply

 
