RSS

Be Comfy

14 Mar

My youngest tells me I’m comfy. She says this as she cuddles with me on the couch or gives me one of those “I don’t ever want to let you go” hugs. I’ve often been torn about how to receive this comment. As a 7 year old, I am sure she intends it as a compliment; sort of a nod to my motherliness. As a woman, I generally want to be anything but comfy. I have many gifts, but “stick-to-it-ness” is not one of them. Sure, I can get started, but at some point I usually punk out and deem it not worth the effort. Therefore, losing weight is not my forte. I probably can’t get away with claiming it as “baby weight” now that my babies are 7 and 11.

I do attribute my shape to my two pregnancies, which have given me curves I never had previously. I am grateful for my curves and for how feminine I feel when I embrace them. Yet, there is always this inner voice that tells me there could (and should) be less of me to go around. This voice has been amplified by others who have used their outer voice to influence my inner voice and convince me that I am not sufficient, just as I am.

Raising little girls is a lot of pressure, particularly when trying to combat the images to which society holds them. In our family, our standard is much higher for we are “fearfully and wonderfully made” (Psalm 139:14). I have spent a long time trying to please others and fit into their mold, but that never works out.

I am me. I am cuddly. I am comfy. If that is good enough for my daughters, it is good enough for me.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on March 14, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

2 responses to “Be Comfy

  1. judybeauchemin

    March 14, 2012 at 9:28 am

    I am “comfy” too, and it runs in the family. Blame it on your genes. I know you don’t want to be compared to a Grandma, but your mom fought the same battle for many years and finally lost the weight she wanted to lose, just about a year before we lost her. I would much rather have her here in “comfy” condition. Her health problems had a lot to do with her weight loss. Stay healthy and happy and just be YOU. We love you just the way you are. We love you for being YOU and being an important part of our family. We are blessed!

     
  2. Dorothy Dickinson

    April 6, 2012 at 12:19 am

    Your grandma Judy and your Aunt Dorothy (me) are 2 of a kind in a LOT of ways and comfy is sure one of them…must be a family trait!! We are who we are (no put-on’s) and if people don’t like it that’s just too bad…you can probably ask any of our kids and they will verify that too! Loving your family is one of the most important things you can do in life and you really have to love yourself as God made you to be content with that. I guess it was passed down from our parents.

     

Leave a Reply

 
