RSS

While You Wait

04 Apr

Confession: I am the least patient person I know. That’s not being self-critical; it’s the truth. I hate waiting.

I spent a lot of time this week waiting – waiting for a health update, waiting for news from an exciting opportunity,  waiting for plans to fall into place. Every single one produced bad news or a definitive “no”.

You see, I want my dog to get better. I was hopeful that a different job would make life easier. I really wanted to make that trip happen to be at our friends’ wedding. Truth is … none of those things are deal breakers. None of those things should dictate how I approach my day or how I act with friends, family, coworkers.

What I have learned is that while I may be anxious in anticipation of how things will turn out, I am right where God wants me to be.

In the waiting, I lHopeearn to listen and to be grateful.

In the waiting, I find grace.

In the waiting, my faith grows.

God meets us there … in the waiting.

 

 
2 Comments

Posted by on April 4, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

2 responses to “While You Wait

  1. judybeauchemin

    April 4, 2012 at 12:52 pm

    So many people will be able to relate to what you are saying and most of us are not good at waiting. As time passes and we grow older (older than you are) we don’t really learn to like waiting, but maybe we develop an acceptance of the things we can not change. That doesn’t mean we learn to like the waiting. Life sure is filled with plenty of that. It’s having to accept the disappointments when they come along. Now that’s hard no matter how old you are, but you accept them and move on.
    Loving you, Grandma

     
  2. Dorothy Dickinson

    April 6, 2012 at 12:04 am

    I guess none of us like to WAIT and of course we have mind sets and don’t even THINK about what else could be in store for us if we did something different. I love reading your ‘stories’…like you are giving me a peek into your journal…maybe the journal of your mind. Thanks for sharing with me (and others), Erin. xxoo God Bless you EVERY DAY and His angels watch over you Every Second, Love Aunt Dorothy

     

Leave a Reply

 
