RSS

Love Letters

18 Apr

Last night, during our usual bedtime routine, as I snuggled with each of my daughters I pulled out a journal I bought for them earlier in the day. It was chosen specifically for them, with encouraging quotes that I hope will inspire them. On the pages between I began a letter, written just for them, to each daughter her own. I retold their special birth story and how they were created specifically for our family. I detailed the joy they bring to those who have the pleasure of knowing them. I highlighted their unique and extraordinary gifts. I shared how truly blessed I feel to have been chosen to be their mother.

Writing letters comes from a place inside us that is authentic and vulnerable.Wrtie More Happiness into the World
It is not always easy to share our inner-most thoughts with another person. I began these letters to my daughters because I want them to know what it is like to be their mother. I want to be able to express to them the honor and pride I feel, as well as how humbling an experience it is. We will have ups and we will have downs, and I will chronicle for them the journey. This is where the lessons are learned and we can pause to reflect even if just for a moment.

I encourage you to write letters to your children, to your spouse, to a sibling, to a parent. Writing helps us tell our stories and preserve the memories.

“One day you’ll be just a memory for some people. Do your best to be a good one.” – Anonymous

 
3 Comments

Posted by on April 18, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

3 responses to “Love Letters

  1. saraeden

    April 18, 2012 at 1:24 pm

    This is such a great idea!! Over the first year of my sons life, my husband and I have, at different times, written blog posts and facebook notes to him and about him. You’ve inspired me to go back and find them so they can be printed and compiled as the start of a journal for him. Thank you!!

     
    • ebmaney

      April 18, 2012 at 1:28 pm

      Thank you, Sara! It was actually reading the Mother Letters that inspired me to not just write about motherhood, but actually write to my children as well. Your son will love reading through your stories!

       
  2. Dorothy Dickinson

    April 18, 2012 at 4:01 pm

    That’s a wonderful idea and I know both of your daughters will carry on this ‘tradition’ you just started as they grow up and become mothers too. They learn from experience and you are making wonderful memories that will never be forgotten.

     

Leave a Reply

 
