RSS

Rough Start

25 Apr

At 5:30am I was woken by the sound of my dog vomiting in my room. At 6:30am I was outside in the cold walking my dog after she inhaled a half-gallon of water. At 7:30am my daughter broke her glasses, just in time for the state math exam. Enter her Papa with super glue to the rescue.

Sometimes we just have rough starts. Today was one of those. Fortunately, they tend to smooth out. Often someone comes alongside us, to walk through the rough spots, hold our hand, and help us keep it together.

Today I am grateful for rough starts. They remind me of the bigger picture and help me not to focus so much on the little things.

I am thankful for those who come to my rescue. Some are praying me through, whether I know it or not. For others, it’s the offer of a cup of coffee and adult conversation. My favorite are the hugs.

And I will always be grateful for superglue.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on April 25, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

2 responses to “Rough Start

  1. Dorothy Dickinson

    April 25, 2012 at 7:22 pm

    Yes, SUPER GLUE is SUPER! So are you and love the new post (as usual). Are you now giving the dog insulin shots and other meds? I know it will be hard to lose her (him?). My granddaughter Amber/Wayne had to prepare their boys 6 and 8 years old just this past week when they had to put their little dog Howie to sleep. Sad times indeed. Too bad about the glasses all in the same morning. As you WELL KNOW…the timing is never right when that stuff happens. Were you also going to work today?

     
    • ebmaney

      April 26, 2012 at 9:51 am

      Yes, I give her insulin injections twice each day now. The glasses held up through school, so I will get her an eye doctor appointment soon. And that all happened as I was getting ready for work. Somehow I still made it on time! 🙂

       

Leave a Reply

 
