RSS

“Single” Parenting

16 May

As a single mother, I often receive comments like:

“I give you so much credit for what you’re doing.”

OR

“I don’t know how you do it all by yourself.”

Here’s the secret: I don’t. I don’t do this alone. I am incredibly blessed to have so much support from family and friends who recognize the challenges I face to get things done everyday, from the mundane to the critical.

It’s the special person who decides to do my dishes, just because.

It’s the sister who emails to tell me I’m doing a great job.

It’s the friend who stops by to mow my lawn while I’m at work.

It’s the work team who understands and respects my commitment to my family.

It’s the couple with two kids of their own who offer to babysit anytime.

It’s the friend who comes to town and never misses a coffee date.

Just this morning, while I am at work, my dad is taking my dog to the vet to have her glucose level checked so I can continue her insulin therapy. He also traded cars with me this morning so he can take mine to the shop and have my windshield checked.

My mom will be picking up my youngest daughter after school and meeting my oldest at the bus stop. They will spend the afternoon with her until I come home from work. We will cook dinner there before we head home to finish homework, clean up, take care of the bearded dragon and our dog, not to mention pack lunches and start laundry.

Then it’s bedtime. This is my most favorite time of the day. I get to lay with each of my daughters individually and talk about their day, read a bedtime story, say our prayers, and cuddle for a bit. It is the best way to end our day.

Some days I forget to pack lunch money . . . but they forgive me.

Some days I forget to clean the fish . . . but they survive.

Some days all the laundry isn’t done . . . but the kids are clothed.

Some days I let the dishes go . . . but the kids are fed.

Some days the kids look disheveled . . . but they are clean and happy.

This is our life – our every day. I wouldn’t have it any other way. I do a lot for my children, but I don’t do this alone. For that, I am forever grateful.

 

 
2 Comments

Posted by on May 16, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

2 responses to ““Single” Parenting

  1. Pat

    May 16, 2012 at 2:28 pm

    A long, long time ago I realized that, when my kids are in their 40s, they’re not going to remember how clean the house was, but they’ll remember the time I spent with them.

     
    • ebmaney

      May 16, 2012 at 2:31 pm

      So very true, Pat. Thanks for the reminder 🙂

       

Leave a Reply

 
