RSS

Keep Calm

13 Jun

Those signs are popping up everywhere now. You’ve seen them. They are on mugs, towels, t-shirts, posters, tote bags, doormats, and yes – even bandaids.

I always wondered what the crown was for, so I did a little research. Turns out this was a poster produced by the British government during WWII to help raise public morale in case of invasion.

I don’t know about you, but I have a hard enough time keeping calm on a daily basis, much less in the face of a potential disaster!

And yet, the sentiment of the poster seems to push beyond the words it bears. We must carry on in the face of adversity because otherwise, we claim defeat. We ought to keep calm because that is when we can have rational thought and make the wise decision.

All of this was recently put to the test for me with a rather challenging weekend trip from which I am still recovering. We camped at a site infested with huge spiders and a high tick warning. I had to repair a hole in my tent with a plastic bag and band-aids. Our directions were almost always wrong. The heat made everyone cranky and the water supply was lacking. People got their panties in a bunch over changes in plans or lack of planning.

The good news is that I remembered to pack my big girl panties, so I was able to face the challenges with self-control and fortitude. A little support sure goes a long way.

 

 
3 Comments

Posted by on June 13, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

3 responses to “Keep Calm

  1. Dorothy Dickinson

    June 13, 2012 at 6:40 pm

    TWO new ones on here since I went down to a granddaughter’s bridal shower and stayed a few days at my daughter’s house. Great homecoming gift for me! Love them.

     
  2. Dorothy Dickinson

    June 13, 2012 at 6:43 pm

    OH!…I thought twitter training was another post! Since I don’t twitter you can tell me about that too!!

     
  3. judybeauchemin

    June 14, 2012 at 2:24 am

    I’m sure Tovah and the other girls were thankful to have you there with them to help calm things down in the rough circumstances. We sure do learn from everythign in life. Maybe some of what you learned about keeping calm has rubbed off on them….pass it on.

     

Leave a Reply

 
