RSS

Children at Play

11 Jul

I think every one of us ought to have the “Slow, Children at Play” sign prominently displayed either in our rear view mirror, bathroom mirror, or on the front door – wherever you look when you rush through your day onto whatever you think is so importantly waiting for you. Children know how to handle time; how to mold it and shape it to their whimsy and imagination. They teach us that the only way to travel is slowly.

Time is sacred. It ages us, infusing in us wisdom and beauty. Each day is a blessing full of precious moments strung together. Some days I’m afraid of what I will miss if I blink.

“Remind me each day
That the race is not always to the swift;
That there is more to life
Than increasing its speed.
Let me look upward
Into the branches of the towering oak
And know that it grew great and strong
Because it grew slowly and well.
Slow me down, Lord,
And inspire me to send my roots deep
Into the soil of life’s enduring values
That I may grow toward the stars
Of my greater destiny.”
~ excerpt from Wilferd A. Peterson Slow Me Down Lord
 
3 Comments

Posted by on July 11, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

3 responses to “Children at Play

  1. Judy Beauchemin

    July 11, 2012 at 5:05 pm

    I love the reminder….perfect for everyone.

     
  2. Dorothy Dickinson

    July 13, 2012 at 2:48 am

    Another to print and add to my Sweet Wednesday collection! Tell me how you chose Wednesdays to write! I think it might be because the week is half way to the weekEND, but just guessing. I have seen several hand made ‘SLOW…Children at Play’ signs that someone around here must make and sell maybe at the swap meet. They actually open to stand in front of the yard at the curb to ‘tell’ people to slow down. Good idea.

     
  3. ebmaney

    July 18, 2012 at 9:08 am

    You’re exactly right! It’s because the middle of the week is often hard for me to get through and stay focused, so it gives me a chance to stop and reflect back over the past few days and look forward to the days ahead! 🙂

     

Leave a Reply

 
