RSS

It Matters

26 Sep

I’m sitting here on my porch on one of the first crisp fall nights, sipping coffee and listening to the kids running around playing inside.

I wonder how life gets so complicated, so overwhelming, so draining.

And wondering how to slow it down.

To find my sanity again. To find peace.

Even though I am sitting, surrounded by the stillness, so many thoughts are running in my head.

This week alone I have laid to rest a goldfish and a treasured family dog, while consoling grieving children. I have mourned with close friends and family over the loss of a beloved grandma. I have felt the emotional and physical exhaustion of lifting people up in times of desperate need.

And as I sit here thinking back over my week, I realize that’s what it’s all about. Doing life together, in community, lifting each other up and helping someone through their struggles and affliction.

Because in the end, it doesn’t matter if I missed a day of work, if the laundry didn’t get done, if the kids went to bed late, if I didn’t make it to that meeting.

What matters is that someone feels a little stronger, a little more loved, a little better prepared to face tomorrow.

Make a difference.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on September 26, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

2 responses to “It Matters

  1. Judy Beauchemin

    September 26, 2012 at 10:16 am

    You truly do make a difference in people’s lives…a positive difference. I know how hard it can be at times, but those special times are what love is all about and you do make memories in both the good times and the troubled and tough times, too. God bless you always. You are a treasure and we love you.

     
  2. Lindsay Bearden

    October 10, 2012 at 1:19 pm

    Thank you, I needed this!

     

Leave a Reply

 
