RSS

Sweet Tovah

12 Dec

Twelve years ago, I was given a beautiful gift. One I never thought I was worthy to receive. I was blessed with a baby girl. She is intelligent, beautiful, compassionate, confident, kind, and strong, and she has the biggest heart.

On her third birthday, I wrote this poem for her. I still feel very much the same today.

Blessed

A giant squeeze from a tantrum-throwing toddler
makes a Mommy strangely forgiving.
Though patience tends to run thin
at the end of my day,
You have a way of both testing it
and relieving all overwhelming feelings
with a single hug.
How is it, I wonder, that a child so small
has the ability to heal a wounded soul?
I have experienced so much in my life
yet, no one has made me feel as good as you
with your simplest gestures.
Your smile can heal,
your laughter can mend.
I am amazed everyday
by the individual you are becoming
at such a young age.
A large part of me wants to hold
that helpless infant once more;
that tiny soul who needed her Mommy for everything.
Now you can do so many things for yourself
and your understanding blossoms daily.
You truly are my greatest joy,
my comfort, my treasure.

556411_3558953737216_707557434_n

 
2 Comments

Posted by on December 12, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

2 responses to “Sweet Tovah

  1. judybeauchemin

    December 12, 2012 at 12:19 pm

    Beautiful verse about such a beautiful girl. As she turns 12, I remember the day we met for the first time. Tovah was a newborn and your were born new into our family as well. We were blessed over and over. Lots of love, Grandma and Grandpa

     
  2. Dorothy Dickinson

    December 14, 2012 at 2:18 am

    Happy Birthday, Tovah and thank you for sharing your beautiful children and your lives with us, Erin! I love you all. xxxooo God Bless you Every Day and His angels watch over you Every Second! Aunt Dorothy Dickinson

     

Leave a Reply

 
