RSS

An Unfortunate Farewell

03 Apr

Most Wednesdays, the ideas about to write are freely flowing. On occasion, I will know what I want to write about, but I am unsure quite how to say it. Today was such a day … until I read an incredibly poignant and moving letter. It was written by Gerald Conti, a high school history teacher who submitted the letter for his retirement. He encapsulates what I believe most educators feel about the state of education and the demise of the values that once dictated it.

Read Mr. Conti’s letter here.

“After writing all of this I realize that I am not leaving my profession, in truth, it has left me. It no longer exists. I feel as though I have played some game halfway through its fourth quarter, a timeout has been called, my teammates’ hands have all been tied, the goal posts moved, all previously scored points and honors expunged and all of the rules altered.”

Thank you, Mr. Conti, for your dedication and service to the profession and to your students, and for continuing to inspire educators even in retirement.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on April 3, 2013 in Uncategorized

 

One response to “An Unfortunate Farewell

  1. judybeauchemin

    April 3, 2013 at 11:20 am

    Education has changed so much over the years. I do hope it becomes more than prep for tests sometime in the future. What I heard on the news last night about teachers “helping” students get better scores, was a sad situation. That’s not what we need to teach them. God needs to be invited to return to the schools. I appreciate good Christian schools and good home schools even more than ever before.

     

Leave a Reply

 
