RSS

Not for me

24 Apr

I do not have an EZ-Pass. Given the fact that I commute an hour one way to work Monday through Friday, this is hard to fathom, I know. I purposely drive through the regular toll lanes and I do so with great intention.

Let me explain …

Each day, when I get onto the toll road (about halfway into my commute) and again when I get off (just 5 minutes before pulling into work), I am greeted with a smile, a “have a nice day”, and often a “drive safely”. This from folks who began as complete strangers 2 1/2 years ago when I started my job, who have now become people I enjoy seeing each day.

I do not know any of them by name, nor do they know me, other than by vehicle make and model. And yet, these folks often lift my spirits more than people I engage with on a more frequent basis.

Here are some interesting things I have learned about my toll booth operators:

1. Lane 3 is very eccentric – she has new nail designs virtually every other day, and a funky hairstyle she wears so well.

2. Lane 2 is a huge Packers fan – he still calls me “Green Bay” long after I have replaced my WI tags with NY ones.

3. Lane 4 is a social butterfly – even though she is typically talking on the phone when I pass through, she always tells the person on the other end to hold on while she greets me and sends me on my way with a smile and a “Have a good day, honey.”

4. Lane 1 is compassionate – in our brief 30 seconds, he always asks if I’ve had a good day and wishes me a safe journey.

I do not have an EZ-Pass. I am, however, the recipient of lots of encouragement each day … and many, many smiles.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on April 24, 2013 in Uncategorized

 

2 responses to “Not for me

  1. Dorothy Dickinson

    April 24, 2013 at 4:37 pm

    It’s the “people person” in you. That’s really a lot like your Uncle Les was. xxoo

     

Leave a Reply

 
