RSS

Perfect Imperfection

25 Jun

The soles of my feet,
worn and rough,
take the hard road
avoiding eggshells.

My calves,
solid and strong,
chase after dreams
running in circles.

These thighs
rise and fall.
They carry me
and hold you back.

My hips are wide,
stretched and scarred,
birthing beautiful life.

The soft folds of my stomach,
branded by the ebb and flow
of attempted perfection.

Full breasts have nourished and sustained,
remain tempting and seductive.

These shoulders
grow weary,
bear the burden of struggle,
carry the weight of what if.

Greying hair is trademark
of lessons learned –
Hard.
Mistakes repeated.

You need not concern yourself
with the scars of my body.

It is mine to own
to share
as it pleases me.

Wise eyes
see into your soul,
reveal hidden desires
deep within me.

These lips,
softly grazing your skin,
evoke longing
that lingers after they’ve parted.

I hold my chin high.
My pride
will not allow me
to belong to you
to anyone.

Though my body breaks,
I rise inside.

My heart, ignited,
soars with a thirst for passion
that no one,
no one
has been able to quench

Though you have tried
in vain.

 

 
2 Comments

Posted by on June 25, 2014 in Uncategorized

 

2 responses to “Perfect Imperfection

  1. judybeaucheminj

    June 25, 2014 at 1:44 pm

    Wow! That was my first response to your very personal poem. It expresses well your emotions about your inner feelings as it relates to you, from head to toe. Excellent!

     
  2. Aunt Dorothy Dickinson

    June 25, 2014 at 6:44 pm

    Erin, you did it again…passing on your deepest feelings to the reader…me (and I see your grandma Judy beat me to it). I am so happy to be a part of your messages. It’s like receiving a ‘first edition’ special delivery every time!

     

Leave a Reply

 
