RSS

To love our bodies

04 Nov

I’ll be honest … I have never been comfortable in my body and it has been hard having two daughters who I want to be completely transparent with and have them love their bodies as much as I wish I loved mine.

I’m growing, and I’m growing to love my curves that bore these precious daughters, the soft folds that my youngest loves to cuddle into, the strong arms that support and hug my teenager. We need to view our bodies instead for what they provide, how they nurture, how they love.

That’s why I believe it’s time for a movement – a movement to embrace our natural selves. Can I be completely transparent here? I have no eyebrows. There, I said it. In an attempt to impose on myself a standard of beauty as a college student, I had my eyebrows waxed. What I didn’t know was that there was coconut oil in the wax. Within 24 hours I had an allergic reaction that turned into scabs in place of perfectly shaped brows. To this day, I cannot completely grow in hair. Instead, I’ve spent 20 years drawing my eyebrows on every morning. You should know, I’m a terrible drawer.

As I approach 40, my right eyelid droops and tiny crows feet have settled in the corners of my eyes. They are most noticeable when I smile. Guess what? I’m not going to stop smiling. Let them pop out and show the world that I am happy and that I have loved and laughed through this life. That’s what it’s about. It shouldn’t be about covering up what we have endured, what we have earned, as if it is shameful. We need to celebrate our natural selves.

Let’s use this month as a springboard to sound off to the world that women are beautiful. Your flaws are trademarks. Own them.

I wrote this for my daughters. Let it also be my love song to you.

Do you know you’re beautiful?
When I see you apply mascara and I wonder if I taught you to accept your flaws or cover them up,
do you know you’re beautiful?
When I straighten your hair but secretly wish you would embrace your glorious waves,do you know you’re beautiful?
When I see you frustrated at clothes that don’t fit quite right, and I want to hug you and tell you strength comes in many forms,
do you know you’re beautiful?
When I see the joy you bring to the children you lead by example,
do you know you’re beautiful?
As you grow ever more independent and I cheer you from the sidelines and pray for you unceasingly,
do you know you’re beautiful?
As you share your dreams with me that I hope will one day become your reality,
do you know you’re beautiful?
Because your amber eyes light up when you are passionate about something,
because you do not tolerate injustice,
because you are a loyal and faithful friend,
do you know you’re beautiful, like I do?

This young man has the right message: “There will always be something about you that’s not right to a person who’s not right for you. Your flaws are perfect for the heart that’s meant to love you.”

Join me for #naturalnovember and post a selfie: #nofilter #beYOUtiful #takebackyourbeauty

20151104_080541

 
5 Comments

Posted by on November 4, 2015 in Uncategorized

 

5 responses to “To love our bodies

  1. judybeaucheminj

    November 4, 2015 at 2:55 pm

    In my eyes you are just beautiful just the way God made you! I have never worn much makeup at all, maybe some lipstick now and then, so it’s harder to relate to people who wear makeup. Nothing wrong with that, it’s just not the way I am, wrinkles and white hair and all.

    Beauty comes from within. You and your girls have all the natural beauty you born with. Too bad about the eyebrow loss. I never knew that happened to you! Just be proud of who you are. I love the way you teach your girls to do the same. I love all of you and it has nothing to do with make-up…and I didn’t make that up either. 🙂

     
  2. Dorothy Dickinson

    November 13, 2015 at 11:17 pm

    Beautiful, Erin! I love what you write and how you express it. I am very sure your daughters are growing up knowing what is beautiful! They will carry on your legacy! Love you xxoo Aunt Dorothy

     
  3. Dorothy Dickinson

    November 13, 2015 at 11:20 pm

    P.S. Guess I never noticed the eyebrows either. I look at the whole package!

     

Leave a Reply

 
